You are here

Member Updates

The Fall 2016 small research grant recipients are Bettina Casad, Brittany Christian, Corey Cook, Nilanjana Dasgupta, Katherine Goldey, William Jimenez Leal, Janelle Jones, Victor Karandashev, Frank Martela, Randy McCarthy, Adam Pazda, Jason Rose, and Julia Vogt. Each recipient’s project title and abstract, as well as their affiliations, may be found below. The Spring 2017 small research grant cycle will open, and applications will be accepted, beginning September 15.  
This summer, four undergraduates packed their bags and moved across the country (and, for one student, around the world) to spend eight weeks working hands-on in a lab that corresponded to their research interests. These students, Roxie Chuang, Deanna Ibrahim, Maria Escobar, and Precious Hardy, participated in SPSP’s new Summer Program for Undergraduate Research (SPUR). SPUR is an intensive internship experience for undergraduates from under-represented ethnic groups. Roxie’s SPUR Experience: Building Professional Relationships
SPSP member Dr. Lisa Neff was featured in a recent issue of “Setting the Record Straight on ‘Wasteful Research’”, a series by the Consortium of Social Science Associations (COSSA) which provides researchers whose work has been mischaracterized by lawmakers the opportunity to set the record straight about their work’s value and potential, as well as to confront misconceptions about federal government-funded social science research.
Welcome to the new Senior Editorial Team!
Portals Open Today! The undergraduate poster submission portal is open today through September 19 for poster submissions for the 2017 Annual Convention. Note that only current undergraduate students are eligible to submit a poster during this submission period. The undergraduate student must be the first/presenting author on the submission. Undergraduates who will be graduating in December of this year (2016) are still eligible to submit now and present at the convention in January of 2017.
Portals Open September 6th!